Darlington FC Reunion – around 60 players ranging from 1966 – 2015

Dig out your old Darlo shirts and scarves!

Preparations are well under way now for Sunday’s book launch and player reunion.

We have around 60 former players and officials coming to the reunion, from Darlington sides all through the years, from the 1966 promotion winning team, through 1985, 1990, 1991, 2013 and 2015.

But we have also invited players who have provided special memories as well – players such as Steve Gaughan, Neil Maddison, Phil Brumwell, Glenn Naylor, Steve Tutill, Marco Gabbiadini – as well as Trophy winners Jamie Chandler and Sam Russell.

This is the first reunion since the Farewell to Feethams reunion in 2003 – so there’s a lot of catching up to do. Why not wear your old Darlo shirt and scarf?

Darlo’s on the Up (by Ray Simpson) is a 256 page account of Darlington’s six successful campaigns, and contains around 150 photos. There are contemporary quotes from Lol Morgan, Cyril Knowles, Brian Little and Martin Gray, plus memories from players such as John Peverell, Carl Airey and Kevan Smith. And there are loads of supporter memories as well, including some from that 1965-66 season, the first promotion at that time for 41 years. The price of the book is £12.

Admission to the event is free, tickets aren’t required. (We issued tickets to gauge the interest, and we know that there is plenty!). It all starts in the Dolphin Centre at 2pm.


Here’s the list of players and officials (in no particular order) who have indicated that they will be attending on Sunday. There could be more, as we don’t have contact numbers for many former players, and more could turn up on the day after reading our website or the Northern Echo, or by word of mouth. We’re giving them a name badge each so then you can recognise them! There will be other fundraising activities going on and Quaker Retail will be there. Let’s hope that we all have a great afternoon.

Bring your pen, camera, and some money!

If you’re a former player who hasn’t been contacted, then you will be most welcome. Turn up at the Dolphin Centre by 1.45, go upstairs, through the coffee bar, and ask to be directed to the VIP suite.


Gary Brown

Jamie Chandler

Neil Wainwright

Craig Liddle

Steve Gaughan

Mark Barnard

Gary Pearson

Mark Forster

Kevin Stonehouse

Gary Coatsworth

Kevan Smith

Jim Platt

Lee Tucker

Sean Gregan

Gary Gill

Sam Russell

Mitch Cook

Les McJannet

Amar Purewal

Alan White

Stephen Thompson

Neil Maddison

David Hodgson

Craig Gott

Simon Shaw

Mick Tait

Drew Coverdale

Danny Mellanby

Brian Atkinson

Martin Gray

Kevin Burgess

Andy Collett

Eddie Kyle

John Hope

John Peverell

Craig Hignett

Glenn Naylor

Steve Tutill

Gary Bennett

Chris Hughes

Paul Campbell

Lee Nogan

Neil Aspin

Mark Bell

Clive Nattress

Phil Brumwell

Joe Tait

Micky Trotter

Matthew Coddington

Steve Holbrook

Marco Gabbiadini

Robbie Painter

Mark Prudhoe


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s